machester city 2-4 leicester city

Manchester City manage_92920029_guardiol_reur Pep Guardiola defended his team’s system after a 4-2 defeat by Premier League champions Leicester City.

Guardiola started with a back three but reverted to a four-man defence when his side trailed 2-0 after four minutes.

The Spaniard said: “It is not about the system. We defended well with these players at the beginning of the season.

“Now we have to stand up and analyse what happened, especially mentally to encourage the players to step forward.”

England striker Jamie Vardy scored a hat-trick in Leicester’s stunning win to end his 10-game run without a Premier League goal, while Andy King also netted.

Aleksandar Kolarov and Nolito scored late consolation goals for a Manchester City side who have lost back-to-back league games for the first time under Guardiola.

They have won only four of their past 15 games in all competitions, but the former Barcelona and Bayern Munich boss said he would not change the team’s style.

“I want to play the football I feel,” said Guardiola, whose team are four points adrift of leaders Arsenal.

“I cannot say we played badly or didn’t play without the intention to create.

“Always I try to control the games so we concede few goals, in here I cannot do that and I have to analyse why.

“I want to win games, I don’t want to lose games. I feel what I feel and in the Premier League there are some special things, but the pitch is the same. What I believe is good and will be good.”

Leave a Reply

